New Directors from Pointe au Baril and Manitoulin Island Appointed to the North East LHIN Board

Two new Directors have been appointed to the North East Local Health Integration Network (NE LHIN) Board – Anne Stewart, of Pointe Au Baril, and Petra Wall, of Spring Bay on Manitoulin Island.


“The North East LHIN Board is pleased to welcome two exceptional new directors bringing diverse skills and backgrounds. Anne’s extensive experience working in public health and her expertise in research analysis will be an asset to the Board as we work to improve population health,” said Chair Ron Farrell. “And Petra brings extensive health care experience grounded in community, as well as a decade of working with and learning from Anishinabe people on Manitoulin Island.”


In 2014, Stewart moved to Northeastern Ontario as an environmental health consultant, educator and entrepreneur. Prior to that, she worked with Toronto Public Health as Public Health Inspector for more than a decade and recently completed a contract with its Community Food Works Program. She brings to the Board years of experience in project management, from her work in property restoration, and governance experience that includes serving as a member of the Parry Sound and Area Food Collaborative, the Georgian Bay Association and Bayfield-Nares Islanders’ Association. Recently, through her consultant work and volunteer commitments, she had focused on initiatives that improve health, including waste water and clean drinking water.


“Having recently moved to the North from Southern Ontario, I have embraced First Nations knowledge about this wonderful part of the province and its people, waters and plants,” Stewart said. “I’m looking forward to working with the North East Board to improve health for all Northerners.”


With a Master of (Health) Science in Administration (MSA), Wall has worked as a Registered Dietitian for the Manitoulin Health Centre and in Wikwemikong, as well as in long term care homes on Manitoulin Island, Elliot Lake and Espanola. Wall brings to the Board considerable leadership experience having served as Executive Director of Noojmowin Teg Health Centre and Wikwemikong Health Centre. Wall’s community involvement is diverse, spanning from economic development, as Chair of NEMI (Northeastern Manitoulin and the Island) Community Development Corporation, to arts organizations, such as Debajehmujig Theatre Group, to home and community care, as a former Board member of North East Community Care Access Centre.


“I look forward to working on behalf of Northerners to strengthen ties between primary and home and community care and increase care coordination across the system,” said Wall.


  • The role of the LHIN Board of Directors is to oversee, advise on, and govern the strategic direction and priorities of the LHIN
  • Directors are appointed by an Order-In-Council through a process administered by the Public Appointments Secretariat, for a term of up to three years, and may be re-appointed for an additional term or terms to a maximum of six years.
  • The Chair and the Directors are appointed based on their expertise, experience, leadership skills and the needs of the LHIN and are accountable, through the Chair, to the Minister of Health and Long-Term Care for the LHIN’s use of public funds and for its results in the local health system.
  • The NE LHIN Board now includes: Denis Bérubé (Moonbeam), Ron Farrell, Chair (Sundridge), John Febbraro (Sault Ste. Marie), Toni Nanne-Little (Sault Ste. Marie),  Mark Palumbo (Sudbury), Betty Stone (Temiskaming Shores), Kim Morris (Sudbury), Petra Wall (Spring Bay, Manitoulin), Anne Stewart (Pointe Au Baril).
  • To find out more go to
This Media Release