Date - September 27th, 2024

SENT VIA EMAIL: Iswami@nwmo.ca

Attention: Laurie Swami (President and CEO)

Nuclear Waste Management Organization

22 St. Clair Avenue East, Fourth Floor

Toronto, Ontario M4T 2S3

Dear President and CEO Laurie Swami, Nuclear Waste Management Organization

RE: First Nations say 'no' to nuclear waste storage in the North

We are writing to inform you that our First Nations in Northern Ontario say 'no' to nuclear waste storage and transport in the North.

We are aware that you are proposing to set up a nuclear waste storage site near Ignace, Ontario. Nuclear waste storage will negatively impact all of us. Nuclear waste poses the potential for a spill or a leak that could happen on-site, or while the waste is being transported through, or near, our communities, our territories, our watersheds, and where our air comes from. This leak or spill would impact our air, our rivers and lands, causing incredible harm to our way of life, which is already threatened.

If and when the spill or leak occurs the harm will impact us for generations and our lands will never be the same. The material that you want to store there will be dangerous for longer than Canada has existed, longer than Europeans have been on Turtle Island, and many times longer than anything that human beings have ever built has lasted. How can you reliably claim that this extremely dangerous waste will safely be contained for hundreds of thousands of years? The burial of nuclear waste within the earth is against the teaching of our collective culture and goes against our beliefs and way of life. As well, the risk of a highway spill is almost a given with the condition of the Ignace highway where accidents and highway closures are happening frequently.

We have not given our consent and we do not accept this risk to our air, our water, our land and our people.

We are also informing you that our grassroots people and our First Nations are the collective rights holder on our Territories. National, provincial, and Treaty organizations have an important role, which we respect. However, only our First Nations can speak for our people, our land, and our water. You cannot talk to and correspond with anyone else in place of us. No one else can give consent in our place to activities, like nuclear waste storage, that risk grave harm to our people and our environment.

Our Nations have not been consulted, we have not given our consent, and we stand together in saying 'no' to the proposed nuclear waste storage site near Ignace. We call on you to respect our decision.

Please copy all those who are copied here on all correspondence on this matter.

We are united,

Chief Rudy Turtle

RyTint

Asubpeeschoseewagong Anishinabek

Chief Donny Morris

Kitchenuhmaykoosib Innnuwug

Deputy Chief Allan Brown on behalf of Chief Brennan Sainnawap

Wapekeka First Nation

Chief Chris Moonias

Neskantaga First Nation

Chief Charlie Beardy

Muskrat Dam First Nation

-88

Chief Jeffrey Copenace
Ojibways of Onigaming

Chief Chris Skead

Wauzhushk Onigum Nation

......

hief Wilfred King

Gull Bay First Nation

Chief Louis Kwissiwa

Netmizaaggamig Nishnaabeg

Chief Michele Solomon

Fort William First Nation

Chief Carrie Atatise-Norwegian

Gakijiwanong Anishinaabe Nation

Chief Redsky

Shoal Lake 40 First Nation

Enc.

CC:

Cecelia Begg, Kitchenuhmaykoosib Inninuwug Head Councilor (eleanorbegg@gmail.com)
Harriet Cutfeet, Kitchenuhmaykoosib Inninuwug Councilor (harrietcutfeet@gmail.com)
Sam MacKay, Kitchenuhmaykoosib Inninuwug Councilor (samuel.mckay59@gmail.com)
Jacob Ostaman, Land and Environment Director Kitchenuhmaykoosib Inninuwug (jacobostaman@gmail.com)

Wayne Moonias, Neskantaga First Nation (wayne.moonias@neskantaga.com)
Joshua Frogg, Wapekeka First Nation (joshuaf@wapekeka.ca)
Deputy Chief Allan Brown, Wapekeka First Nation (allanb@wapekeka.ca)
Judy Da Silva, Environmental Coordinator, Grassy Narrows First Nation
Joseph Fobister, Lead Negotiator (jbfobister@qmail.com)
Mike Fobister, Lands Team Coordinator (mike.fobister@googlemail.com)
David Sone, ANA Advisor (david.sone@gmail.com)
Jackie Esmonde, ANA Legal Advisor (jesmonde@cavalluzzo.com)
Dan Mossip-Balkwill, ANA Advisor (dan.mossip.balkwill@gmail.com)
Dayna Scott, Neskantaga Advisor (DScott@osgoode.yorku.ca)

Bob Watts (NWMO VP, Indigenous Relations and Strategic Programs bwatts@nwmo.ca) Minister of Crown-Indigenous Relations Gary Anandasangaree (gary.anandasangaree@rcaanc-cirnac.gc.ca)

Minister of Environment Conservation and Parks Andrea Khanjin (minister.mecp@ontario.ca) Minister of Indigenous Affairs Greg Rickford (minister.indigenousaffairs@ontario.ca) Minister of Environment and Climate Change Steven Guilbeault (steven.guilbeault@parl.gc.ca) President of Impact Assessment Agency of Canada Terence Hubbard (terence.hubbard@iaacaeic.gc.ca)

Grand Council Treaty 3 Chief Francis Kavanaugh (by fax: 807-548-4776) Grand Council Treaty 3 Environmental Manager Chris Herc (by fax: 807-548-4776)